Looking for 2nd kayak- advice needed

So I’ve started hunting used kayaks looking for a more advanced 2nd boat. I was a bit disappointed that my local REI is not doing any demo days this year. Anyway I currently have a perception sound 9.5’ that I have been using for 3 years I believe. I am interested in doing some overnight trips and long hauls. Particularly going from Cable, WI to Hudson, WI about ~200 miles at some point in the next few years. I live near st. paul, MN and plan on getting a used boat. Basically looking for any suggestions, I’ve been mostly watching for perception and wilderness boats. Originally I was thinking a 12’ boat but I’m wondering how much harder a 14’ or 14.5’ boat would be in an occasionally twisty narrow river? I don’t have a lot of experience with longer boats and not sure I have paddled anything over 12’ in the past.

Thanks

What’s your height & weight?
That information will help with suggestions.

Narrow twisty river?

– Last Updated: Jul-30-13 7:39 PM EST –

Unless it's whitewater, I would not worry at all about a 14 or 15 ft. boat in tight spaces. As long as it's got some rocker and thigh braces, you'll learn to edge it, and make it turn tightly. I've frequently had my 16 & 16 1/2 ft kayaks in twisty creeks and tree-studded swamps. Getting them to go where I want is half the fun. And, it sounds like the extra length-speed-range could be useful for you.

info
5’8" and ~135lbs

“You need a bigger boat”

– Last Updated: Jul-30-13 8:05 PM EST –