Looking to buy my first kayak!

-- Last Updated: Apr-19-09 1:44 PM EST --

I'm new to the kayaking world, but know that I will continue to do this for many years. So I'm thinking about buying one. I'm about 6'4" 300ish lbs. I've been borrowing a buddies otter, and while its def. to small for me I've been doing fine in it, and enjoying myself alot. I do want a kayak more fitting for my size, but I don't want to spend over $500(broke college student as is).

I intend to fish a little or alot from whatever kayak I buy(which means I'll probably have to add rod holders). I'd like it to be adept at handling windy lakes and going down moderate rivers. Anyways I was looking at the vapor 10 ($379) and it seems like a pretty good fit for all my criteria, but I can't find many reviews on it. I assume its semi new.

I also looked at the dicks sporting goods store (about the only place to buy a kayak around here) and the perception 9.5 was like $279 and seemed like it might work. I'm on the fence about whether or not I should pay a little more for a 12 foot since I plan on having this kayak awhile. I would appreciate any and all advice!

You’re going to need a lot of kayak,
in length as well as width and depth. Don’t skimp just to make a convenient purchase.

I have to agree
with the other reply. At your size the kayak should be at least 12 feet. Look for something used on Craigslist or elsewhere. Stay away from short boats at discount chains. You might find a sit on top kayak better as a fishing platform.

For your size…

– Last Updated: Apr-19-09 3:43 PM EST –

...It's gonna be "tight". My husband is 6'5" and 200lbs and we just bought him a rec boat. Most 10' boats didn't fit him or wouldn't hold him weight-wise. Forget that Perception 9.5. You definitely should think about a boat in the 12' range.

We wound up ponying up $800 for a Native Watercraft Marvel 12 which fits him very well. http://www.nativewatercraft.com/