Moral dilemma

You agree to sell a 14.5’ kayak to someone. Person indicates he intends to transport the kayak 60 miles on the interstate with a blanket on the roof of the car and only two cross ties, no end straps. You’re unable to convince the person that this isn’t safe. What do you do?

(Considerations: Other drivers; passengers in those cars, including children; cars braking and swerving to avoid a flying kayak; your legal liability for letting the person drive off when you knew the kayak wasn’t safely attached)

Legal versus personal
Once a legal adult has given you the money, you may not have much legal liability - especially if you refrain from excessive honesty.

But for what it is worth, because of safety concerns we have decided not to sell a boat to someone who would have happily forked over the money. It was a different safety issue - he wanted to immediately take the kayak out into waters for which he was utterly unprepared. (was a complete newbie paddler)

If we had been able to convince the guy to go out with us once or twice in a safer environment so we could get him thru some basics, he could have had the boat. But he totally refused to do that, and we like both he and his wife. So we told him that we had taken the boat out and decided we still needed it for some purposes. He is still around and his wife still likes us. I don’t think he has gotten a kayak yet - he probably only wanted to jump on this one because we and the boat were present and accessible.

do the f&r tie downs for them
Tell them you’ll use your own rope and tie them yourself. But you’re not selling unless they agree to that.

Do it in a way that makes them feel like they “won”.

not right?
Is this not how your supposed to transport a boat?

If they tied it through the windows and laced it through some deck lines it is probably more likely to beat up their car than it coming off.

Ryan L.

Same here.

– Last Updated: Jun-10-11 11:32 AM EST –