My story

Here is my story. I used to be one of those people that kayakers and boaters hated, a jetskier, although, I did show repect to everyone on the lake and followed the rules. I had been jatskiing for about 12 years now and I decided it was time to slow down and enjoy the journey instead of just the destination. I sold my jetski last weekend and bought a kayak. Everyone I know said I was crazy. Today was the first time that I have used it. I LOVE IT. Why haven’t I done this sooner. I have never even paddled before and I had to be coaxed out of the yak. I bought a Perception America 11.0. I think it is a good one but again this is my first. What do ya’ll think?

I hope you enjoy it.
The day will come when some wind, maybe too much sun, and the ability to twist your wrist and fly across the lake would seem like a good thing. You’ve made your choice - enjoy it for what it is, don’t compare them. It’s like saying you gave up golf for tennis - they’re different things.

Why not both?
Is there some rule that says you cannot enjoy both? Some kayakers will look down on a power boat user, but who cares?

Good on you for the change. Though
on the lake I paddle and fish, its not usually the jet skis I hate. Most go by fast and create little wake. As for the kayak, enjoy it, but you’ll be back at the dealer in a year of so wanting another. Its a contagion. I’ve two kayaks, two canoes, and will probably add one more of each in the next year or so.

jetski
My husband still has a jetski. He does freestyle and rides a stand up so I guess if I want to ride, I will use his.

If you enjoyed it on the water
it will do you for a while, but I bet you’ll be looking to move up at some point–something a bit longer, a bit sleeker, with a bit of cargo space.