Necky Chatham 18 Comments

Any comments on the Chatham 18? - handling, speed, overall quality, hatch water tightness, etc.? Thanks.

Limited experience…
I paddled one once and recently inspected one at a local shop…

I liked the way it paddled. Fast, easy to edge, turned well, a bit limited on ititial stability. It has a large cockpit…bigger than most would need, but comfortable outfitting.

Don’t plan on putting much in the hatches. I would think you would be hard-pressed to carry enough for an overnight trip unless you are a very light packer (tiny capacity, especially for a boat this size).

Boat is light, but probably a trade-off in durability (very light and flexy layup).

I have heard it is not the greatest in rough water, which I believe would be true.

But, as I said, I have limited experience so someone else can probably tell you more.

Would I buy one…no. There are better boats out there in this category…the Aquanaut and Explorer are better in my opinion, as are some of the Impex models.

If you found a great deal on a used one, then maybe, but otherwise I would not chooese this boat over some of the other available options filling a similar niche.

Matt

Don’t like it
I demoed one and it looked and felt like a box. Almost flat bottom, hard chines. It didn’t feel like it belonged on the water.

I have one for sell
It’s great going down wave and control for weathercocking. It’s a bit too flat bottomed/straight keeled I think I’d like a long boat that had a bit more rocker. It’s a bit jiggly.

The high fordeck accentuates the boxy look. It has enough volume for gear. I moved the front bulkhead back nearly 9" for footbracing.

Had mine for a month or so…

– Last Updated: May-25-06 12:19 AM EST –

.....I like it.
Some folks think it's fast. I don't. It certainly doesn't move through the water as easily or as fast as my Coho did.