Necky Looksha IV or CD Storm GT?

Hello, I’m new to kayaking having just finished my first outing using a friend’s WS Tempest 170. It was so great that I’m now looking for my own. I’m on the Southern Maine coast, so most of my trips will be island hopping in the Casco bay and similar waters. Lengths of trips will be anywhere from 3 hours to 3-4 days.

I’m looking at a Necky Looksha IV ($750) and also a CD Storm GT ($600). Both in excellent condition (per the seller, but I will check them out thoroughly). I will not be able to paddle either of them before buying. Any thoughts on which would be a better kayak? I’m 5’10", 175# with a medium build.

I liked the Tempest 170, but I had a terrible problem keeping it straight. It might’ve been my stroke, but boy was it annoying trying to keep it straight, even in areas with not much of a current at all. Other than that, it was fine. I think i’d prefer a rudder over a skeg, but that preference comes from my issues keeping the Tempest straight despite the skeg being deployed.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

CD Storm…
IMHO, The CD Storm is a roomy stable boat, and it looks great in the water.

When I guided it was first choice to put clients in as it was stable, and with the rudder very easy to control.

As your skills improve you may find a tighter fit more to your liking but given your two choices I would vote for the Storm.

Good luck, GH

either
you can sell either one when/if you want to without much of a financial loss.I like the Necky over the Storm but ymmv

kayak
My votes for the Necky

Weathercocking, rudders