Need a New Hand-operated Bilge Pump

My Beckson Pump left my life abruptly along with my Progression. I need to replace it and I would like your advice. Note that I_DO_NOT_WANT_AN_ELECTRIC_PUMP and hope that this thread won’t become a soapbox for electric proponents. I am looking to replace my Beckson with something similar.

Who can recommend a hand pump that has met or exceeded their expectations and why?

Highly recommend the modular Seattle Sports pump. Can easily be taken apart for cleaning and you can buy new gaskets for a low price on Amazon. High quality. But I haven’t used mine since I got a deck mounted Chimp Pump.

2 Likes

Thank you for the recommendation. I’m familiar with the brand but not that model.

I have an Aqua Bound Bilgemaster that seems good so far.

Haven’t actually had to use it to clear out my kayak yet, but it worked very well in a water fight during a kayak on a hot day last summer. . .

Though a friend was also using one and in an attempt to make it spray farther he was yanking up on the handle really hard and eventually his D-grip piece came off. I think he was able to get it back on and the pump still functioned.

2 Likes

The grey one with the red handle.

2 Likes

Beckson

2 Likes

Checking it out. Thank you.

I have the Bilge Master as well. Worked fine at my last wet exit. :smile:

I’ve had a basic Seattle Sport come apart inside and thought I could just remove the little screw and take an end off to see about fixing it . . . no way, no how. Screws came out but it seemed like the ends where glued on, couldn’t even get them to move.

1 Like

Thanks for the input.

I second the Bilgemaster. I have one and it works great. Haven’t needed it on the water yet, but I did use it to empty my kayak after I left it on the roof of my minivan one night, without a cockpit cover, and it rained…

1 Like

Thank you!