New paddler saying hi

I’ve been lurking a bit but figured it was time to get some advice. I’m just getting into kayaking and am currently paddling a borrowed (quite old?) P&H Orca that is ~15.5 feet (missing a rudder). Cockpit is ~16" x 31", I’ve been using a skirt, and I haven’t had any issues getting in/out of it (although I haven’t tested/had a wet exit yet since I’ve stuck to calm waters and have always had one of the kids with me in a SOT, typically being towed). I took an ACA level 2 class about a month ago and spent 3 hours in a P&H Virgo MV and I recall it fitting well, but that was my first time in a sit-in and second time ever (first being a SOT about 15 years ago).

I’m 5’10", 170-175 lbs depending on the day (ideal weight is 165, but hey…covid), built like a soccer player, 33" waist, US 8.5 shoe size. My primary goals are bay/open ocean paddling (with eventual open water crossings (5-6 miles), wave surfing and possibly rock gardening). Secondary goal is relaxed paddling with the family on lakes. My “home waters” are the NH seacoast area. I don’t mind “tippy” boats and prefer performance-oriented (knowing full well that I’m unable to get full performance due to my lack of skills at the moment (haven’t even tried to do a roll), but I’m willing to put the time in and learn). I am able to do the basic forward/reverse/sweep/draw strokes and am able to edge turn.