New to Canoeing, but not to the Water

Hi All,

I am a novice when it comes to canoeing, but I have years experience with recreational kayaking. I am in no way a “hardcore” paddler. I usually take the kayak out 10-15 times a year on either flat water or Class I-II rivers.

I have a family member that is giving me their old (maybe ancient) Grumman 17’ aluminum canoe. I know that it is old and heavy, but I am really looking forward to taking it out on the lakes every now and then.

I have some questions for those who have experience with these old canoes.

1. How practical is it to use this canoe for solo paddling? I am talking a few hours out fishing on the lake or a 8-12 mile float trip on a Class I-II river?

2. How deep does the water need to be? I don’t mind dragging here and there, but I have heard horror stories of people having to drag their canoes for miles in some of the shallow Ozarks rivers. I am a pretty big guy (about 250 pounds).

Any information or tips that anyone can give me would be appreciated. I know that doing is the best way to learn, but I want to be prepared a bit for the first time I take this canoe out this spring.

Thanks in advance for your help, time and answers.

Doug

Quick Reply
1. A 17-foot Grumman is not “practical” for solo paddling, but there are those who do it. Solo paddling with a single-blade paddle is something that takes a long time to learn. With a double-blade paddle it’s easy, but in this boat you won’t have lighting-fast control.

Solo paddling is best done either from the bow seat facing backward or from an extra seat or kneeling thwart closer to center. The Grumman has a thwart immediately behind the front seat, so the first option is out. There is no center seat or kneeling thwart, but drop-in seats can be purchased or made by you.