Newbee kayak.......Suggestions.

Hello

I was hoping to get to help/ suggestions.

I am a total newbee to kayaking and I about to purchase my first kayak :slight_smile: !

I am looking to paddle lakes and slow rivers. The sales person at REI suggested

The Perception Prodigy 10ā€¦ā€¦ā€¦I was hoping to get some input if this is a good beginnerā€™s kayak or should I be looking for something else?

Thanks for any and all input.

What are your goals?

ā€“ Last Updated: Jul-02-08 10:41 PM EST ā€“

If you are looking to really learn kayaking skills that'd get you eventually to bigger water, or paddle with others who may have touring kayaks, or plan to get further from shore than you could swim, not the Prodigy 10 or its similarly very rec type kin.

If you want something to paddle around the shore of a calm water situation with and not worry about any of that, a boat like this might work for you. It still needs float bags though.

Itā€™s fine to get started but ā€¦
It will work fine for flatwater paddling on lakes and slow rivers. Itā€™s a good idea to take a kayaking lesson and rent a kayak or two before you buy, then you have a much better idea what you will like and will have some basic skills. Let folks know where you live and they can point you towards someplace that can give you a basic lesson.

The guy was an idiot!!!

ā€“ Last Updated: Jul-03-08 12:54 AM EST ā€“

in my opinion

G_K

A real paddle shop
will often be much more helpful. And after talking with guys in the local canoe club, I know which retailers are worth dealing with and which ones to avoid.

There is one local dealer that really does sales as much for a hobby as anything. He apparently doesnā€™t need to make 40% profit on each and every boat to keep his business afloat (pardon the pun).