Newbie needing a Canoe....

-- Last Updated: Feb-12-06 7:20 PM EST --

Anyone heard of this "Northeast Outfitters Sports Canoe"....I'm a newbie and saw it at Dick's sporting good....it was a three man Canoe for 499.99. I tried to look it up on the internet but couldnt find it.

I'm 34, got a 12 week old son and wife, we both want to canoe. I've never owned one and neither has she. Basically I want one to go out on the lake we live near...do some basic fishing, camping and sight seeing. I want it to hold my wife and our child when he gets a little older.

The boat above looked interesting...it had the built in seats and some drink holders and two compartments... I would also like to attach some oars so I can row....(even though I have never rowed) I just think I would like it.

I'm in decent shap..6 foot and weigh 195.

Since this is my first canoe...I think I want something durable...and less then 500.00.

please give me your input...

Thanks...
Witt

Read product review
There is a review on the 14 foot model that may help you.

B.G.

The review helped.
Thanks for the replies so far…the review helped…thanks for pointing that out…

Now I know that “Johnson Outdoors Water Craft” is the one that makes this canoe…

Any further advice or input is welcomed…

Witt

Good for you for wanting this as…
…an activity for your family. Seconding other suggestions, look at “Classified ads” to the left, then if something looks interesting there, check its

specs on “buyers guide” and users’ comments on “product reviews”. Whatever you buy, if you enjoy the sport you’ll want to upgrade in a year or two. They make PFDs in infant sizes-get one! (Besides the ones for you and your beloved). You might even wind up getting solo canoes for you & the wife-lots of good things about that.

you’ve made a good first step…