Newbie seeking advice on Kayak length.

I’m a total newbie to Kayaking. I’m almost 64 years old and in decent health, 5’ 10” tall & 175 lbs. I like to canoe and although I can handle my 12’ canoe easily in the water by myself, I’m just too old to carry it anymore. I live directly across the street from a river which is pretty calm but has a tide shift as I’m about 4 miles upriver from the ocean.
So I’m looking to try Kayaking as I know I can easily carry a 40-50 lb Kayak a 100+ yards to the river.
I’m getting different advise from friends (some just got their Kayaks) about length and they are recommending a longer one, while another friend of mine is pretty experienced and says for me, a 9-10’ is fine for what my initial intentions are.
So I understand that the longer the Kayak, the easier it is to keep it going straight (Tracking right?) What about mobility and turning, I would think a shorter one is more mobile and easier to turn?
So I’ll get to my main question, what do most people recommend for length for someone’s first kayak for river kayaking (for now).

If it was me, I’d be taking my 14 ft Dagger Alchemy up and down that river and I’d know that if I wanted to go play in the ocean that it would be a very appropriate craft for the job.

Your river being tidal, I am assuming it is flat water, not white water? When we hear rivers, we often think of white water conditions, which is a much different boat than flat water. A flat water river is similar to a lake in boat needs.

There are variations due to hull shape and such, but in general longer goes straight better, while shorter turns easier. Most of your paddling is going straight, so tracking is considered to be the more important attribute. There are extremes, of course - I probably wouldn’t be looking at a boat of 18’ or over. You won’t need that level of tracking.