Newby Buying Advice Please (sorry long)

I’d like some advice please. I’m just getting into serious kayaking. We have a couple ‘play’ kayaks we use to explore local river headlands we take on the big boat (small old cruiser) and drop overboard and just use on the smallest and shallowest sections of river. We use a Pelican 14T tandem and I also have an Otter XT. Like I said they are just play boats we take out on the big boat during the summer.

Ok so anyway I’ve long wanted a serious kayak. I’m between 5’6" and 5’7" and currently am about 130 lbs. By summer I’ll be around 120 lbs. In my mid 40’s. I have long legs and arms and am very short waisted. Basically my thumb fits between the crest of my hip and last rib. If you know anatomy that is pretty short waisted.

Two years ago as a present to myself I went to the local shop and tried out kayaks all day with the intent to buy. Not knowing much but being completely comfortable in and on water helped. I had also researched and read a lot. The young guy at the shop was wonderful in helping me first find boats that seemed to fit on dry land and also gave me instruction on a proper basic paddle stroke. Then off I went down the river for try outs. Two boats stood out. I finally decided on one of them and ordered it. 3 months later and still no boat so I finally cancelled the order in October and won’t deal with that shop again because of the owners lack of attention to the matter. The employee was fabulous though and I told another shop about him and I think that manager was going to try to steal him away from his current shop! Anyway, so I didn’t get my nice boat and then another summer passed (last year using the play kayaks) and now I’m ready again to get out there in a nice kayak this summer!