Nice Paddle

Newbies-

I don’t post here often, though I’ve been around about 8 years now. I just thought I’d touch an old topic that experienced paddlers know well, a nice paddle is a joy. I usually paddle Ozark rocky bottom streams and use appropriate paddles for the day. This last weekend I did some extensive lake paddling with my old Nashwaak paddle that only goes on trips where it is unlikely to be damaged.

It was a joy.

Love this hobby! Get a paddle that is magic in your hands and re-discover it all over.

Best,

Brian

Newbie here
Just curious, why don’t people use double blade paddles?

They reduce fertility.

A nice paddle/boat combination is a joy.
I’d like to try a Nashwaak sometime.

Twice as much work

Logic?
I don’t understand the logic of changing hands if you don’t have to (with a double blade). Any serious answer?

No logic
Involved, Swordie. It’s a groove thing. With the right straight-shaft paddle, a perfectly sized and balanced hull underneath, and a well practiced solo stroke, you don’t have to switch. When it’s all workin’, there ain’t much better. For a less serious explanation, I offer an adaptation of what some unicyclists say about bicyclists," Twice the paddle, half the skill"

OP didn’t mention changing hands.
Which post were you responding to?

People do use double bladed paddles.
I use single blades in my canoes most of the time, rather than kayak paddles, because I like the feel of it. I do switch to a kayak paddle sometimes for a change of motion and to use different muscles.

The double blade paddle drips MUCH MORE WATER into the boat then the single blade, unless the kayak paddle is quite long (greater than 250cm).

My 12oz Zaveral Medium carbon bent shaft paddle weighs just a little over half of my lightest carbon kayak paddles, which weigh in at about 21.5oz.

Single blades are less effected by wind than double blades (never a blade up in the wind).