North Shore Lake Pontchartrain

I am new to kayak fishing and have been reading the post on Louisiana fishing. Was wondering if anybody could tell me if thursday would be a waste of time on north shore after all of the rain. The trip down for me is about 100 miles and I have never been to the area.

check with…
the fine folks at rodnreel.com

I’ve heard, but don’t “know” that the influx of fresh water has slowed things down a bit as most of the northshore rivers are near or over floodstage.

I’m headed to the same area for the next few days. E-mail me and I’ll give you my cell #. Maybe we could hook up and try a spot or three.

Wed. I have to be in the Pearl River area and won’t be likely to launch at all.

Thur. I was think about launching from the south shore where Hwy 11 meets the Lake. There’s a quiet launch there on the Natl’ Refuge that affords a semi-protected approach to the train trestles.

Fri. I was thinking of paddling Bayou Lacombe out to the lake where they were doing well a few weeks ago. High waters have made me rethink that and I may head out toward Sawmill Pass / Lake St. Catherine instead.

Well,
those of you who didn’t make it to “hookey” day were wise if catching fish was the main idea. We got SKUNKED.

Can’t figure it out.

We launched from the Refuge and had an easy paddle out to the Southshore @ the tressles. (For those of you have been wondering - it’s an easy paddle)

Mistake #1 - we stopped several times to cast at phatom reds in the ponds. Result - we arrived at the tressles about 20-30 minutes after the bite ended. Other fishermen we spoke with had caught 10-15 each but reported “They just shut down about a half an hour ago”. The story of my life. We gave it the ole college try anyway but to no avail. The “hot bait of the week” was supposed to be the avacado colored Hybrid plastics. Oh, well…

That afternoon we moved of to the canal that parallels Hwy 90 between the highway and Lake St. Catherine.