Novice kayak paddler thinking about getting a Pakboat

I’m a novice paddler who’s been on the water a few times this season on hard shell rental kayaks. I love the feel of being on the water and am looking to purchase my own kayak to take on expeditions in the future. Because I stay in an apartment I’m looking to get a small foldable one that packs small - I’ve done so much research and I’ve narrowed my search down to the Pakboat Quest 150. It’s light, well constructed, long and narrow, and packs small. I thought about getting an Oru for the longest time but the plastic construction seemed shoddy and it packs so huge - reviews seem to confirm this.

Yesterday I went for a demo event near my city but they only had the Puffin Saco for test, open deck and without foot pegs. The wind was very strong, waters were choppy and I constantly felt like I was about to capsize. Especially since I didn’t have foot pegs, resting my legs on the soft, flexible keel felt really strange. Unlike a hard shell kayak I also felt like I was floating on the water instead of sitting in it, if you know what I mean. In all, the experience is making me second guess my decision. Of course, nothing will beat a pure hard shell kayak and the tricky conditions made it hard to test the boat properly, but I’d be much more assured if I knew I could approximate a hard shell touring kayak experience in flat water conditions. I’d like to know what other Pakboat users think - is this par for the course or do you get used to the skin on frame experience eventually? I’m aware that being novice paddler with prior experience of only hard shelled kayaks also likely played a part in informing my impression.