Novice solo canoe, big guy

I’ve dabbled in paddling in the past with a 12’ OT Stillwater. It was perfect for fishing (I can stand and walk and practically dance in the thing), but I was paddling a bath tub. Now I’m looking for a fleeter vessel, something that can actually move and turn and make me feel like an athlete.

I’m 5’11, 270 lbs and I’m looking for a solo canoe to paddle on lakes and slow rivers, maybe a creek or two if I feel adventurous enough. Something I can kneel or sit in, and cast an occasional line…maybe stand just to stretch out. I will never go camping or long trips so with gear the load should stay under 300 lbs.

My budget is around 1,000, no problem going used and I don’t need a 25lb kevlar/carbon craft. Did I mention I’m a beginner?

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I’m definitely planning on demoing a variety of canoes, but a point in the right direction will be great!

Thank you.

Novice Canoe?
It doesn’t sound from your description of how you would like the canoe to perform, or from how you would like to feel when paddling it that you really want a “novice” canoe. A canoe that meets your use/performance description would generally be catagorized as a touring or sport touring canoe.

In general, a composite boat will handle and respond better than its Royalex (rubber) cousin. There are many boats that would meet the need, but one that comes to mind immediately is the Wildfire. It’s currently made by Placid Boat Works but only in carbon fiber and way above your stated price range. The Wildfire was previously manufactured by Bell and they used to make some in fiberglass. I’ve seen used fiberglass Wildfires for sale in your price range. The performance is almost identical to the current model except that it weighs more and getting it to and from the water will require more effort. Once floating the extra 20 lbs will hardly be noticeable.