Ocean Kayak for very small build

I’m a novice looking to purchase first kayak with rudder system to be used primarily in unprotected coastal waters. I am very small, 5’3" 105 lbs. and would love suggestions advice… Thanks!

small

– Last Updated: Aug-01-09 1:02 PM EST –

If you're set on a rudder, the QCC Q10x might be a good choice.
http://www.qcckayaks.com/kayaks/model.asp?model=q10x

What boats have you paddled?
Any other constraints, such as budget or transportation?

For unprotected coastal waters conventional wisdom is that you should have a boat with watertight bulkheads and perimeter lines to help with self-rescue. I don't know of many ruddered kayaks like that for someone your size.

The Tsunami 135 is sold for smaller folks, but I was comfortable in it at 5'9", 160.
http://www.wildernesssystems.com/product/index/products/touring/touring_tsunami/tsunami_135r_touring

The poly Necky Eliza has a rudder, but it'd also be a bit big on you:
http://www.neckykayaks.com/kayaks/touring/eliza_polymer.shtml

If you like to build things, there are also choices, such as this one, that can be built with a rudder:
http://www.pygmyboats.com/mall/Osprey13.asp

If you're open to trying boats without rudders, there are many more options.

There are small-blade and small-shaft paddles. A "standard" paddle will probably feel awkward. Getting a paddle that fits you will make a huge difference in paddling comfort.

First purchase should be comfortable PFD.

small
Thanks for the input! I prefer the rudder to help in moderate conditions. I have a feeling this will take some time…

OK

– Last Updated: Aug-01-09 1:28 PM EST –

If you don't already know, rudder vs. skeg vs. none is one of the great ongoing debates in kayaking. There are good boats in each style. Read with an open mind, paddle as many boats as you can, and decide for yourself.