Oil Canning

Several people in another thread have suggested that the Wenonah Spirit II fits my family’s canoe needs. While researching that model, I’ve read the Product Reviews on this site. Several mention a problem with “oil canning.” What is this? Remember, I’m a newbie.

Think of the old…
3- in- one oil cans.

You push the sides in to get the oil to come out and the can indents as you do it, and then when you release the pressure the indent pops out.

That is “Oil canning”.

If you strap a poly or cheaply made canoe or kayak down to a car too tight or too long it is liable to oil can.

Most of the time the indent will pop out when you release the straps.

Cheers,

JackL

oil can
http://www.comstock.com/web/search/loupe.asp?type=RF&image=KS5908.JPG

Oil canning is when water pressure does what your thumb used to do with the old fashioned oil cans.

It hurts performance
Now that you have the mechanics, nothing cuts through water better than a rigid form.

When on the water
oil canning is when the hull of your canoe flexes a little bit as water moves under the hull. I have an Old Town Pack (royalex) and it does a bit of oil canning especially in rougher water. It does not permanently damage the canoe as it flexes back. As stated above it does impact performance slightly however since you are planning to use a cnaoe for family recreation and not racing I doubt if you will notice any difference.

lots of definitions…
…I agree that if your boat dents & then the dent readily pops out, it is similar to the action of using an oil can, but still call these (temporary) dents.

My def. of oil canning is a section of hull that alternately dips in and out; a permanently rippled or wavey area. It is not caused by water or strap-down pressure. I’ve seen this in new boats on the showroom floor & believe it is caused either in the manufacturing process or afterwards by heat and improper storage. The culprit is altered linearity.