OK, what good is rolling?

I realize I might get flamed for asking this, especially in such a blunt way. But what is the real good or purpose of rolling? Is it to practice handling rough or unexpected water conditions? Or is it just to show off? Or is it just to have fun?

I have never done it, but it looks like it would be fun to learn how. But along with learning how to roll, it would be nice to learn WHY to roll. I am new to this, so any constructive comments would be appreciated. Thanks.

Lou

Picture this----
You’re out paddling, don’t see a wave sneak up on you and all of a sudden you are trying to grow gills.

Isn’t it better to have multiple ways of becoming an air breather again?

1st roll up.

2nd try again

3rd and yet try again

4th wet exit

5th re-enter and roll

6th re-enter and paddlefloat roll

7th paddlefloat re-entry.

If you don’t know how to roll or re-enter and roll, all of your options boil down to one—wet exit and paddlefloat entry.

And yes, it is fun too.

Sometime you may
involunterily do the first half of a roll. It would be nice to be able to do the second half and get right side up quickly. Facilitates breathing, etc. It also prevents one from having to wet exit, emptying the boat, and doing some form of re-entry, especially if the water is cold. Then such activities can be very uncomfortable or even fatal. Good enough reasons for me :slight_smile:

All of the above
But most importantly it is the safest form of self rescue and the better you are at rolling, the less likely you are to need it.

To sum it up…
to avoid a swim. River swims are always highly dangerous and to be avoided like the plague :slight_smile:

lots of reasons!
1. It helps develop other crucial skills such as braces.

2. It is your best self defense/safety option in a kayak. You are ALWAYS safer in an upright kayak than you are swimming.

3. It cools you down when you’re overheating.

4. Most importantly, it’s FUN! :slight_smile:

self rescue