One more GoreTex drysuit question

I’ve got this very nice rental Kokatat expedition drysuit in my living room. Managed to try it on last night without overly gyrating (after studying Kokatat’s directions).

Thanks to reading old posts here at Pnet, I’m using Smartwool socks under the booties, then my Astrals over the booties.

What do you paddlers do when you drive for maybe 30 minutes to a launch site?

Do you put your drysuit on at the launch site or before you leave, without zipping/closing up the top? Seems the latter would be more efficient and protective of the booties.

Thanks - I’m new to this drysuit aspect of paddling.

Depends on the temp
If it’s cold below freezing I might put it half on

Usually put it on just before paddling

A terry towel is great to stand on so you don’t grind your Goretex socks up

At launch
I always put it on at launcn site. BUT I mite put it on at a central meet point while waiting for others to arrive then drive short distance to actual launch site. I just put my legs and arms in but don’t pull the top part up over. this way its almost all on but not the neck seal yet. I have a front cross zip kokatat suit.

Wear the underlayers
I wear the insulating underlayers, perhaps with a baggie pant/shirt (sweatsuit or similar) over them for the drive to and from. That minimizes coldness because then there is only the outer layer to swap for a drysuit at the launch.

And then I don’t have to jam the Goretexed feet into booties or sandals for driving. Ugh. Especially with a manual transmission.

Many launch sites lack a bathroom to change in, so keep that in mind.

If you get the lowered men’s relief zip, bring a FUD.

Put it on at the launch

– Last Updated: May-06-16 12:27 PM EST –