Outdoor storage advice - rain cover?

Hello. I am almost certainly overthinking this but here goes:

I got a used royalex Penobscot 16 recently- hull looks solid but paint is faded, and the wood was rotted out likely from being stored on the ground upside-down in the wet wet wet Pacific Northwest. Gunwales are royalex, not wood though. I’ve got seats and all new wood on the way, but I’m thinking of how to store it going forward. I do not have indoor space.

Easiest for me would be a couple of sawhorses. It will be against the house in a shaded area with some tall trees so I am not too worried about UV. I was thinking of rigging a tarp over it (we love tarps up here) , but since the canoe is obviously waterproof, this may be pointless if it’s upside down… or should I worry about the moisture?

Thanks.

1 Like

Given the humidity, I’d protect it with 303 and leave it in the sun.

Get if off the ground and out of the sun. A tarp would not hurt. Keep the snow off it.
Most canoes will collect moisture in the ends when they are upside down.

Wood seats and thwarts are tucked up inside the boat and should be fine. Keep them varnished.

Hang in straps upside down and tarp it.

Less than 40 bucks makes two stands.

Maybe throw some mothballs in it when it’s upside down.

1 Like

It probably goes without saying but, be sure to remove the tarp every now and then to make sure there’s no mold or critters that have found their way inside.

Tarp roof not wrap
tarps wrapped around the boat discolor it and trap mold onnthe wood
Livery boats on Maine don’t have wood gunwales but all are outside covered by feet of snow
Its the wood you want to care for