Paddle bags, how do you transport your paddle?

As a newbie I am curious how you transport your paddle. We invested a good bit and was wondering if many of you use something like the NRS paddle bag. NRS Two-Piece Kayak Paddle Bag | NRS

Or do you just throw it in the back of your Wagon or SUV?

Do I just have too much time on my hands as I wait for my Kayak to be delivered?

2 Likes

I have a bag for my wife’s kayak paddle (for no particularly great reason other than she wanted one) , but my canoe paddles just go in the back of the car.

Paddles can be expensive, so do whatever makes you comfortable

You can protect the paddle blades by slipping them into padded shipping envelopes (the bubble wrap type that UPS, Fedex and USPS give away).

1 Like

I’m still a little new to this but have been around large power boats my whole life. With big boats you just have everything stashed in the boat and hook it to the car and go. I’m finding with paddling there are lots of bits to move around and before after and during.

I’m trying to keep my gear together both protected and so I don’t forget something and when I get to the water I minimize my trips back and forth to the car before setting out.

My plan is to break the paddles down and put them inside a draw bag along with other stuff. I have a bunch of army surplus waterproof laundry sacks that make nice storage for such stuff and I only pay about 3 bucks each for them. Likely the two paddles and two PFDs will go in one bag together.

I like the case idea but I’m too cheap to buy one.

1 Like

Bud, I agree with you, if that case was cheap I would already have one.

I just put the paddle in the car after making sure it doesn’t have sand or mud stuck to it. Paddles fit inside my old no-bulkhead boats so they were stored and car topped there. I did manage to forget the paddles once, now I keep a list posted on the wall of the things I need to bring.