Paddle size vs boat size

I’ve been using a Werner Cyprus for many years now, but mainly paddled shorter boats (Tsunami 140). I got a Tempest 170 lately, and love it, but at times, it does seem like it takes a lot of effort to move the blade through the water. I definitely can’t accelerate as fast as in my shorter boats, and it seems like it’s harder to paddle at a higher cadence if I want. Not sure if using a paddle with less blade area would help, or just stick with the Cyprus and get used to it.

I’m about 5’ 11 and 155 lbs, and would say I’m in decent shape. I’m not the strongest paddler, but feel like I’m probably a little above average. I know the 170 might be a little too large for a paddler my size, so maybe that’s part of the issue. Just wondering if maybe the combination of blade size and boat size is a bit too much for someone my size?

1 Like

I think only you can answer that question. I’ve been paddling for years in various boats from a SOT to surf skis.
I used wider bladed paddles for the most part but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve reduced the blade size at my shoulder’s request and gone to lighter boats.
Your 170 seems to be a beast for your size.

3 Likes

In general the length of the paddle has more to do with the width of a boat than the length of it.

You want a paddle that just gets the blade fully into the water on a normal stroke.

The major problem with plastic boats is that the hulls aren’t rigid. They flex and that take some of the power out of the strokes you take. It is called oil canning.

The Tempest 170 is a very high volume boat. It surprised it recently when I saw one next a dozen other similar boats, it was huge, and that volume is a drag against the hydraulic tension of water.

It might be too big for you.

4 Likes