Paddling Alone

General thoughts on paddling alone? We have a reservoir close by, it’s pretty sheltered and not very big, but deep.

Assuming I take safety precautions, how safe is it to paddle alone? I’m a beginner and am not wanting to do several hours or anything, just maybe go after work to paddle for an hour or so to gain experience and such. of course I would tell someone where I was going, wear my pfd, have a cell phone and do whatever else is recommended.

I would only go on nice clear days, but what sort of guidelines as far as wind do i need to worry about? in the summer we can get storms that blow through pretty quick (coastal SC) but they should have popped up on radar before I head out so I should have a heads up.

any books or websites that will have tips? or is it just a bad idea in general?

thanks!

Go paddle!
Water depth more than 10’ makes no difference if you lose your boat.

What are your backup plans? Are there houses scattered around the reservoir if you are forced to shore? Are there roads providing good access if you need a pickup? Are they easy for helpers to find and locate you on them? Is your launch area well marked by a boat launch area or some marker like a power pole, tall tree, or large house nearby? Can you keep your cell phone dry?

With the precautions you posted, and some backup plans, you should have no problem.

Paddling alone always a risk and the
safety gear and weather monitoring you mention is good. I also carry an extra paddle, a mirror and small bright light (on/in life jacket) for distress signalling, and practice self-rescue until it becomes pretty easy. In coastal SC might choose shallower areas so worst case you could wade the boat in or beach it for a sudden squall. Stuff happens. R

Solo adventures R us
I know, as well as anybody I think, that if one waits for a group to go paddling, hiking, or whatever - one might not get to do much. Especially if one has a “schedule” as odd as mine.