Paddling clothing

I am new to kayaking. I don’t own a boat yet, but I’m in the market. Along with the boat, what type of entry level clothing should I be looking for? I know that i want to dress for the water temp, not ambient temp, but I’m not sure what the means in terms of actual gear. Is there any place I can get a good “buyers guide” to essential cloting?

Thanks!

Mike

could you give more info please…

– Last Updated: Jul-29-04 1:42 PM EST –

in terms of your particular situation? Will you be paddling a sit on top or sit inside kayak? What sort of water temperature will you be paddling in? What sort of paddling season do you have where you live?

edited to add:

I just noticed that your profile says you live in Michigan. I would say at the very least, a nice farmer john wetsuit is in your future! I'm in Wisconsin so the climate and water temperature are relatively close.

depends on where you paddle and how
into gear you are. I bought some stuff off ebay and have never used it. a long sleeve paddle jacket and splash pants. too dang hot-natured to wear the stuff.

I prefer to paddle nekid… :slight_smile:

now if you are paddling lake superior in spring…that’s another story.

P

Remember - Not Cotton
When cotton gets wet it stays wet, and cold next to the skin And Heavy. Start with wicking, fast dry undies. Worth the extra price.

oops

– Last Updated: Jul-29-04 2:56 PM EST –

meant to include more about that.

I intend to paddle open water in an enclosed, touring kayak, eventually including the great lakes in spring through fall. I'm inclined toward dressing warm in any case, so I'm looking for a few essential pieces that will allow me to dress for cold water temps. I'm think this means a wet/dry suit, but I don't know the differences.

Thanks again.

that goes without saying.
I was recently unfortunate enough to forget my bike shorts and jersey on a mt biking ride. I did have a pair of street shorts and a cotten tshirt.