paracord as painter

Hey folks

Not sure if this is a dumb question or not but what is wrong with just using 550 cord as a painter? I usually carry some with me on all outdoor trips anyway and adding another twenty or so feet while replacing the larger marine line would save weight. Maybe add a couple short pieces of tubular webbing to protect the trees. I have Tug-eyes installed, but take it easy if this is not a good idea. I am new to this. Thanks, casey

I like my cord 3/8 or thicker
Not so much for strength, but for comfort when you have to grab the painter. I guess it depends on how you use the painter. I’m often swimming, which is definately a skill issue before somebody adds that, and I’m grabbing the painter to try to stay connected to the boat and ultimately to recover the boat. Thin cord is gonna cut into your hand under pressure, and thin cord is gonna be hard to grab if the water is cold.

I have also used the painter to drag my boat up steep banks, to lower my boat over a dam, to ease my boat down a ravine. For these applications, a thicker line is far easier to work.

I don’t know all the properties of para cord, so I have to ask, does it float? It is imperative that the cord float. I was personally involved in the trashing of a canoe due to the painter getting caught on the bottom of the river. It’s gotta float.

There is an inexpensive .5 cord sold at the big box HW stores that floats and is plenty strong enough to do what a painter needs to do. It is very light. I know every ounce counts, but you can carry 20 or 30 feet of this cord and you won’t complain.

So, I vote no on para cord painters. Your usage may be none other than tying up the boat. Your skills may be such that you never have to chase your boat down in a rapid. So para cord may be fine for you. My vote is no.

~~Chip

I’d say no…
the high tensile strength, thin nylon that is 550 cord could easily cut or burn your hands

Floating