Post-lifting protein/carbs

A question for the serious weight lifters in the crowd:

With the beginning of the post-racing season here in MN, I’ve begun a reasonably serious lifting program, every other day. The off days are some combination of Speedstroke, indoor rowing, other cardio, or on-water (until the water gets a little bit hard for that). I’ve never really lifted in the past, so I’m a bit of a novice on this subject, although I know how to work pretty hard. I’m simultaneously trying to combine this with not gaining my typical 5-10 lbs this winter, so I’m gently calorie resticting, just substituting fruits and veggies for other stuff. I’d like to come into the next racing season about 10 lbs lighter, in addition to significantly stronger (weight in the boat makes you slower, obviously).

Anyway, I’ve read a fair amount about the need to ingest proteins/carbs right after working out. The problem is that most of the protein bars are pretty darn caloric- 390 calories for the Clif Builder’s bar for example. You add an extra 400 calories every other day, and it’s pretty easy to end up gaining 10 lbs, keeping everything else the same.

So, should I just ignore this post-workout protein advice and just concentrate on maintaining a moderate amount of dietary protein, or does it really make a difference in terms of strength gain and speed of recovery?

Any thoughts?

Andrew

Ask Alice

– Last Updated: Oct-09-07 11:26 AM EST –

http://www.goaskalice.columbia.edu/Cat3.html

Especially this: http://www.goaskalice.columbia.edu/1514.html

hi andrew