Pungo 120 ???

Im new to kayaking.I have an chance to buy a used Pungo 120.Its a 2008 year model. The seller said it had the rubber hatches and there were issues with these . What are the problems with these hatches and are there any easy fixes.

Hearsay
I don’t own one but i’ve heard that the hatch covers don’t fit well and can leak. However since the Pungo is a rec kayak, If it is used as intended the leaky hatches should not be a danger.

Only a problem if…
you decide you want to try and roll this boat or take it into dumping surf. Water can get in the hatches if the covers are not tight.

However, Pungo’s are not normally considered to be suitable for the above uses or priorities. They are generally recommended for people who spend their time upright in calm water. So, as above, not a problem. You can always put stuff into a dry bag in the hatch if you want to make sure things stay dry.

Pungo 140
I have a pungo 140 and I believe the hatches are the same. I have had no problems with mine. Don’t put any 303 or other type slippery cleaner on the rubber hatch underside rim or on the kayak side hatch rim and I think you will be fine.

How much
are they asking for it?

Additional info
The following link provides definitive information on all issues related to Pungos:

http://www.kayakquixotica.com/2009/11/25/i-will-take-my-pungo/

Asking
$450

If you weigh much over 200lb, get
a bigger boat.

Offer $200. n.m.

I wanna
buy it just to complete a expedition larger than most Nordkapp day trippers ever could in their lifes.

Am I the only guy who just doesnt find that video funny?

Most of the “intermediate” paddlers I’ve met in reality have paddled $3000 kayaks.Most had the same skill’s as a Pungo owner, just more money invested.

And yes I as well have a Nigel designed kayak. I am a BEGINNER paddler.

I hate kayak snobs.

I have a Pungo120 as a second boat.
I weigh 260 and have no trouble paddling this boat, so I would respectfully disagree with String on that matter.