QUICK...What color?

OK…money?..check!

Research done?..check!

Test Paddle confirms research?..check!

I’m going to pick up an Impex Currituk today. Should I have other things on my mind other than aesthetics when I choose a color?

Yellow OR Red OR Sunburst (orange/red) ???

I try to steer clear bright colors like
yellow or red. I am told (by wildlife biologists and tour owner/operators with very significant expierence) that it stresses out certain wildlife…ie: bald eagles are easily startled…I dont know how much truth is to this…but I work in a reserve with millions of nesting sea birds, so I try to stick with darker colors… personal choice.

Hey, its your boat…make it what you want it to be!! Congrats :slight_smile:

jim.

I’m new to this stuff…
…but I would think color would depend on where you paddle most. In tough waters, I would go for visibility, but in calmer waters, I would go for more earthy colors. Just my two pennies…

Visbility/ Maintenance
If you are paddling in areas with a lot of fog, or a lot of power boats, you want to be seen. Easily, and from a distance, and the boat is part of the package. All of the colors you mention fit that bill.

Re deck scratches, the darker the color the more they will show up. If you think that’ll make you nuts, steer clear of anything darker than yellow or orange.

If visibility isn’t as big a concern, so the ornage or red PFD and hat would be enough, the most maintenance free surface is actually white because scratches don’t show at all.

Yellow
I’d probably go with yellow, because of the visibility. In my experience it seems like the moving paddle is the most visible part of the boat (don’t stop in busy areas), then a bright-colored PFD, followed by deck color of the boat.

My own boat is blue but I got a deal…

Don’t ask me!
I have a light gray deck - selected on purpose - and love it. Cool in the sun, not as glaring as white at high noon, and hides scratches great.