Ready to make a paddle

Alright then, I’ve got the instructions, I’ll have the wood next weekend (clear cedar 2x4) and then I’ll cut the blanks. What I need is a little advice on hand tools. I’m a surveyor not a carpenter so if you have suggestions on the hand tools that will make this greenland paddle adventure a bit easier please be as detailed as possible.

Thanks,

Pat

You need to talk to N.T. and a few of
the others that are out river camping right now.

Mick

Tools
Congratulations Pat!

I made my first greenland paddlle this spring using Chuck Holst’s instructions.

After cutting the blank, I used an old bench plane while waiting for a 12.5 degree low-angle block plane that I ordered from Lee Valley Tools.

Aside from the plane, I also used a knife and sandpaper. That’s about it. You don’t have to break the bank.

Experienced woodworkers like spokeshaves and drawknives, but I didn’t have any and didn’t buy any.

A good plane and sandpaper is really all you need.

Paula

Saws
If you are going to cut the blank with a hand saw I would recommend a Japanese pull-cut saw. I have a band saw and use that, but if I were to use all hand tools the Japanese pull-cut saws are amazing.

~wetzool

I’ve been working on a video

– Last Updated: Nov-13-05 8:02 PM EST –

It's about half finished at the moment and I'll need a couple of weeks or less to get it done.

I'm uploading it right now if you would like to check it out. Like I said it's not finished and has very little editing done to it. You'll need the Windows Media player ver.9 to view it. It's 100 megs and 20 minutes long (the original is 4.5 gigs).

I haven't done a tools segment yet but this vid will help you get going.

FYI this file won't be on the server for very long. I don't want half-finished work out there so it will be replaced or deleted in a few days so grab it now if you want.

Unless bandwidth gets expensive this video will be entirely free (maybe for good reason ;)

Let me know if it's helpful to you.