Reed Chillcheater

Folks, what do you know/think about the chill cheater aqua therm skirts? I wanted to get some thoughts from the group at large. I’m looking to pick up a skirt in the spring for a Capella 166 RM. With luck I’ll make it to Lake Michigan some time but so far it’s just been up and down the local river. I’m a newbie so be gentle.

John

Don’t know about them. Link to site?

aquatherm + rotomold kayaks

– Last Updated: Oct-15-07 9:27 AM EST –

last I heard the skirts were good for fiberglass boats (thinner combing) and were not so good for RM boats. Don't own the skirt, but own the dry top. Lovely fabric, dry's quick, flexible etc.

goto http://www.secondwindsports.net/ and find Chris's email add and shoot him mail. He can answer a lot of your questions.

-assad

liking mine
for the 4 or so months use on glass Valley Q. Easy getting on me and coaming. Stays put and dry through waves and rolling. Much cooler than neo. No experience yet with cooler conditions. About same price as decent neo skirt.

Reed Chillcheater
The Reed Aquatherm spray deck has a very tight fitting seal on composite boats, but we have had mixed results with poly boats and therefore do not recommend them for this application. I have had many people tell me that they are able to use them on poly boats by getting the rim wet before putting the spray deck on.

There are both advantages and disadvantages to the Reed Aquatherm decks over traditional neoprene. First of all,the material has more stretch allowing one deck to fit several different cockpit sizes and to allow the paddler to rotate the torso with less resistance. The skin of the a

Aquatherm material provides a very tight seal and the deck tends to stretch rather than implode.