Rocker in sea kayaks

-- Last Updated: Sep-13-11 8:51 PM EST --

I'm new to kayaks. I'm an old open canoe guy - lot of paddling experience in white water and flat too but mostly - not completely - concentrated on trips. I enjoy using a decent river tripping canoe in class 2-4 white water and on long trips. I'm used to tripping canoes intended for moving water but usable and competent in big flat water with a load.

Recently I bought a sea kayak and as I learn to paddle it in flat water with some current in my local area I am struck by the fact that this kayak is not as easy to turn as my tripping canoe - or so it seems. I am working on edge control etc. But the bottom line is that mild eddy turns and the like are executed in slow motion with this hull. It reminds me of the canoes I have paddled that are designed for flat water. It is fast and straight. Turning takes real effort. I'm already beginning to wonder if I might be happier with a different kayak that has more rocker. I want to gradually ease into salt water but always will paddle moving fresh a lot- maybe up to class 2 or more. Are there sea kayaks in the 16 - 18 foot category that have some rocker in the hull and that are useful and fun in mild white water but that are strong and useful in the flats and in the ocean as well? Am I making any sense? Or should I start thinking about two boats? I really don't want two boats. But, are there sea kayaks out there that could double as river touring/tripping kayaks with enough rocker to make it fun in the mild white water? I'm not interesting in big white water - but nice class 2 type stuff I would enjoy in a kayak.

what do you have?
I am quite sure there will be suggestions, but let’s start at square one

Get a used ww kayak if you want to
have fun in easy whitewater. Believe me, even short, rockered sea kayaks can’t touch ww kayaks in whitewater. I have both.