rolling a "day touring" kayak

-- Last Updated: Jun-14-08 10:46 PM EST --

I'm a newbie. I've had my first kayak, a Necky Manitou 14 Select, for 2 weeks. I've had it out 12 of the 14 days I've owned it. I live on a Maryland lake that has a channel into the mouth of the Patuxent River where it empties into the Chesapeake Bay. I can get into the bay by paddling from my back yard and thus will normally be in pretty deep water. I have been trying to teach myself to eskimo roll. Have watched all the videos, read all the articles and practiced, practiced, practiced. No luck. I plan on taking a lesson or two soon (Dave at our local Patuxent Adventures provides them for FREE!). Manitou is 14'4", 24", hard chine, flat top deck. I'm 5'9, 208. Should this thing roll, or is it my short fat inexperienced self that is the prob ?

Forget it, the boats not made for it

Take Lessons
I have a Prijon Calabria which is similar dimensions, even slightly beamier at 14’-5" X 25" wide. I learned to roll using my kayak this winter in indoor pool sessions. I have never paddled a Manitou, but my inexperienced opinion is that the boat will roll. It is the paddler that needs to be taught. The advice I received on this board when I asked a very similar question to yours is that outfitting (a secure fit in the boat) and technique are most important. For developing good technique I think hands on instruction from experienced instructors will save you a lot of experimentation and they will be able to diagnose and help you correct any bad habits. It worked for me, no reason it shouldn’t work for you. Good luck! Steve

Good for you