Rolling class...

A local outfitter is offering a rolling class in pools sessions a the Y; they’re supplying all the supplies, including a selection of white water kayaks. I’m a relative beginner who’s only really interested in flat water kayaking.

So, how transferable would learning to roll a ww kayak be to rolling a sea-type kayak?

TIA!

If you learn to roll in short playboats,
then your first tries at a touring or sea kayak may feel funny, but your skills should transfer well. One issue with the very short boats is making sure that you’re rolling the boat and not just turning it on the surface or dousing the stern. With a sea kayak, you may find the rolling action a bit slower and heavier in feel.

You should be learning a slash/screw roll, not C to C.

It Transfers

– Last Updated: Dec-20-09 4:09 PM EST –

I wish they wouldn't do that. Sea kayaks, in my opinion, are easier to roll. I think learning in a sea kayak that fits well would build confidence early in the learning process. But yes, once you get a solid roll it's pretty much the same.

Go get Eric Jackson's DVD and watch it 5 or 6 times. "Rolling and Bracing" or "Bracing and Rolling". It's a tremendous help if your live instruction is weak.

My instructors would say 'keep your head down'. Eric says 'keep your head BACK.' Eric's advice is great for learning to roll.

I was told the boat size used is for the
convenience of the instructors - ie. it’s easier for them to assist and to move boats, and it’s less congested in the pool, with the small WW boats.

I think the tight fit of the WW boats I used in the pool made it easier to instruct, there was no energy given or attention needed to staying in the boat, all body motions translated into boat motions. I barely could get out of the boats I learned in.