Rolling Fear Factor Saga Continues

I haven’t posted on this topic in a while. However, I feel that this past weekend I made some progress.

Now some of you may read on and say “…that’s progress?..” and from the point of view of mechanics, the answer would be no. However, I’m working on conquering the fear that is preventing a calm, focused, roll attempt. If this sounds like “whimpified” drivel to you, then spare yourself and read no further. By the way, I am not seeking advice, although it’s always welcome.

I’d been working alongside a dock for a while using rope hanging in the water as my rescue “bow”. This helped me get comfortable hanging under water, and allowed me to work on my hip snap. But, setting up for a sweep was something I felt uncomfortable with at dockside. Taking Greyak’s advice, I studied the “First Roll” video, abandoned my paddle float, and started to work by the shore “First Roll” style. I used a bottom brace to recover from my (100%) failed roll attempts. For me, the big progress was that I could finally hang upside down, setup for the sweep, and sort of scull upside down. With practice, I’m sure I will become comfortable enough to correct the mechanical problems (body position, focus on hips, following the blade with head).

I thoroughly enjoyed the practice…Lou

The most important thing…
… is contained in your last line!

Torso action
> For me, the big progress was that I could finally hang upside down, setup for the sweep, and sort of scull upside down.