Romany vrs Avocet

I am new to the sport and currently own a plastic mid size sea kayak and want to buy a composite. I am 5’3" tall 115 lbs. I have tried both the Romany by NDK and the Avocet by Valley. It is almost a coin flip between them. Any advice, or comments on these boats to help with my decision will be most appreciated. Thank you.

Romany for fit and sizing
The Avocet is a boat I like, no question, but at your size and weight you may find that the cockpit is way too hard to get good contact in and your weight too little for the intended volume of the boat to make it easy to learn skills. I am 5’4" and 135 pounds. The Avocet works but is not as good a fit for me as would be the Romany.

The Romany has an affirmative keyhole cockpit - something that Valley seems not to quite understand in any of their boats - so will give you a better fit for learning skills. It also has volume that seems to morph for smaller paddlers better than the Avocet (tho’ at your size you might be a match for the Romany LV as well).

The Avocet is generally considered to be the faster of the two, but there is not so much diff between the hulls that good paddling won’t even it out. A lot of very serious sea kayakers including coaches I know have a Romany as their primary boat - so it does distances fine with a proper stroke.

Maybe neither
I can only speak to this question after watching another small person try to find a boat that fits.

At 115# you are really light for an Avocet as a day boat and the same goes for the Romany. However, a Romany LV is likely to fit you well in terms of the cockpit, but the hull is the same.

I am 5’ 10" #180 and think the Avocet is a good, comfy fit. A friend of mine is over 200#, a coach and he uses a Romany. So you would be on the lower weight limit for sure. That might mean the boat just will never be as responsive as a boat designed for a smaller paddler if you like a “quick” responsive boat. If not, it may not matter.