Roof Rack or Trailer?

I am new to kayaking - just purchased 2 12’ and now need to figure out how to move them. Seem like the two choices out there are between getting a trailer or roof rack for a car - any suggestions on what way to go? I have plenty of room for storage of a trailer.

Any suggestions would help.

We have both, but my preference is
the trailer. Only thing is my husband wanted something to hold several boats and ours will hold 10-12 kayaks. Very nice unit but I’d prefer one that fits 1-2.

I have racks for my car to carry two boats, and due to being vertically challenged (5’2"), it’s a bit of a chore to put boats on the rack. Of course, it helps that I also have a “Roller loader”. Great little invention.

Trailer has to be registered
and then taxed, and maintained.

Another problem with a trailer is launching at rivers or lakes where there is no place to park it.

I have launched at lots of road side places where there is no room for a vehicle and a trailer attached to it

These are the only draw backs that I can see.

jack L

Camper

– Last Updated: May-13-10 10:34 PM EST –

If you want to tow a camper (we have a pop up), you can't do it unless you have a roof rack or a rack on the camper. Two trailers won't work. A trailer needs maintenance, and can be a hassle to park, puts more strain on your vehicle.

Trailer vs Roof Mount
Hands down, a light weight trailer dedicated for kayak transport is superior. Our Malone trailer (www.maloneautoracks.com) can be unhitched from the vehicle and moved around by hand so parking is a non-issue. It has required “no” maintenance in nearly two years. We keep our kayaks on it so prep time to go paddling is zero. We don’t need to worry about parking garage clearances for roof racks. I could go on but will keep this as short as possible. Buy a trailer!

Trailer