Roof rack, ratchet straps, kayak & anxie

-- Last Updated: Aug-30-14 7:58 PM EST --

Total newb here: so I have a Honda Passport with roof racks and cross bars, kayak centered and unsure whether to wrap ratchet straps around the cross bars or not. I have RachetX SmartStraps and they are smarter than I.
Advice please. And photos would help.

Simple advice:
Ditch the ratchet straps and use cam-lock straps instead. Get versions with no hooks. This kind of strap has a buckle (cam lock) at one and and nothing at the other. The only way you can use it is to loop it around an attachment point on each side of the boat (that would be the cross bar), and thus make two passes of the strap over the hull.

Ratchet straps are unnecessarily cumbersome to work with, and are capable of easily creating tension that is far in excess of what you need (you can damage your boat with these if you over-tighten them). Almost all serious paddlers use cam-lock straps, and most of the ones who don’t use rope and a knot called a trucker’s hitch.

ditch the ratchet straps
Go with something like this http://www.nrs.com/product/1440/nrs-1-hd-tie-down-straps

Do not by cheap CAM straps. Get good quality ones and your life will be easier.

Anxiety lessening…
Ok but do I go around the outside of roof racks with ratchet or cam straps or the hair I’ve pulled out of my head. That’s the real question.

outside
For your reading pleasure.

http://www.canoekayak.com/skills/how-to-tie-down-boats/

cross bars
Your straps wrap under the cross bars, over the Kayak then under the opposite side cross bars, then over the kayak again, hooking on to the opposite end of the strap.

There are multiple you tube videos showing how to strap down your boats, I am however, to stupid to link them.

Once you see a video of it being done it is remarkably simple.

The main thing to remember is that ratchet straps can over tighten, and cause damage to a kayak. Cam straps are inexpensive, and easy to use.