Sea kayak recommendation for first time buyer

Hello all,

It seems the general consensus is to rent before buying. I am looking to buy my first sea/touring Kayak.

I am 35 yo , 5 ft 7 inches, 165 lb , shoe size 9.5 . I would prefer a kayak in 14-15.5 ft in length(storage easier in a recess in my garage) but it seems most of the sea kayaks recommended are in 16-18 ft rang(e.g. WS tempest ). I am a beginner and will be taking my first kayaking class soon offered by a local sea kayaking club but I would need to bring my own kayak . Till now, i have only paddled cheap rentals in a lake .

Given a choice , which specific kayaks would you recommend trying out for a beginner ? I was hoping to rent 2-3 yaks before buying my own .
I have read that beginners should pick up a rotomolded 14-15 ft kayak but the other school of thought says to always buy the longest boat. Are less than 15.5 ft kayaks not that much sea worthy ? I will be paddling in the Chesapeake bay region with a paddling club.

Thanks.

What do your club members recommend?

If you’re serious about a very seaworthy, fast, light sea kayak under 16’, NC Kayaks has a sale going right now and you can get one of these 15’-8" composite boats for just a bit more, or about the same price as a poly boat. Go to nckayaks.com and check them out.

Here’s a good read about sea kayaks. https://frontenac-outfitters.com/why-choose-a-sea-kayak/

A 15’5" kayak is just as “seaworthy” as a 16, 17, or 18 foot boat. So is a 14-foot touring kayak. They all have two sealed bulkheads, hatches, and deck/perimeter lines.

Both Valley and North Shore, which specialize in sea kayaks, make 15-foot boats.

I guess if you’re planning extended trips and need lots of room in the hatches to store gear and food, then a longer boat might be a better way to go.

I’d find a good outfitter in the area who also offers instruction and start the search there. Good thinking on renting different boats before buying. You need to find what fits you best.