Seakayak Suggestions Please

Hello Everyone,

I have been paddling now for a few years and have decided to upgrade. I currently use a Capella RM166 which has been a great boat. My only complaints about it are it is a little slow and it feels a little roomy for me. I am about 6 ft 185lbs size 10 shoe. I am looking for a faster glass boat that is not too heavy. My Capella is a beast to load up after a long paddle. I paddle mostly lakes but plan on taking trips to the NC/SC coast soon and maybe surfing. I expect I will probably go used since I do not want to spend more than about 2,000 or so. I have looked into the explorer and maybe P & H Bahiya but just wanted to get some overall opinions. Thanks to any that reply.

eft
The west side eft was $2200 new with understern rudder in 2 in or 6 in depth. Or kickup rudder that is better for shallow but will be up out of water in big waves. I used it twice at 20 mile blackburn challenge. Both times were about 3.3 hours. I added bulkheads and small out of way thigh braces. At 33# it light and rocket fast. Switching rudders is tough.

See if you can Demo someones
QCC-700.

It is fast and very stable in rough water.

If you are anywhere near the western part of NC, give me a shout, and you can try mine.

Jack L

Thanks Jack! Do you know if this QCC is available with no rudder?

If you’re down IN SC
You should check out Nigel Law’s Shop in Savannah. Savannah canoe and kayak.

Demo a Tiderace xcite, and an xplore,

he also has mega surf kayaks in stock if you’re into surfing a dedicated surf boat!!

Plus Nigel and Kristin are awesome folks.

capella
I’ve got a Capella RM 166 and I’m actually surprised by how light weight it is. If you are thinking a similar sized fiberglass/composite kayak will be lighter, you might be surprised. I recently helped someone carry their 17’ glass kayak and it weighed much more than my Capella. Not that you can’t find a lighter kayak, but just don’t assume that a composite will be lighter.