Seizures and paddling

A good friend was recently diagnosed with seizures. He’s a 20 yr veteran paddler and he’s looking for advice from fellow paddlers who have similar experiences with seizures and outdoor adventure activities.

Thank you, Olas

Safety 1st
I would never go out alone. I would also make sure that my paddle mates have an emergency plan in place in case I do have a seizure on the water (and are also trained in standard rescue and 1st aid procedures). Your friend doesn’t have to stop living…he/she just has to be better prepared. Hope this helps! Good luck and have a blast!

I am no medical professional
but I have had experience paddling with folks prone to siezures.

In the first case the individual had a Grand Mal siezure while canoeing in a semi-wilderness situation in Canada. Two of the trip advisors knew of his situation, but none of the other participants. When it happened it was a shock to all of us, but at least his boating partner (also out of the loop) had Lifesaving Training and was able to deal with the situation in the water.

The other situation was as a guide on the Youghiogheny River. A customer with no previous history suffered a GM early into the trip. We were able to evac him fairly easily.

Congratulations to your friend for continuing to paddle, and I am glad that you are aware of the condition.

My suggestions are:

1. Let everyone in the group know of the situation. Back in 1969 there was a stigma (wrongly) attached to the condition. Everyone on that trip was wrongly put at risk. A siezure is more easily dealt with when the group all know the facts.

2. Always wear a PFD. The 1969 situation was when we were wearing cheesy, loose-fitting 3-slab foam jackets with clip closures. They rode up easily, and would not support an unconscious person very well. If it had not been for a 17 year old young lady with Red Cross training…

3. Dress for immersion or carry spare dry clothing. Plan on getting wet sooner or later.