Self rescue instruction in lower Westchester county

I am an 80 year old kayaker in pretty good shape. I have a 10’ Eddyline Sky 10 sit in kayak.
I always kayak alone, mostly lakes but recently the Long Island Sound because Harriman boating ends at the end of October.
I do own a drysuit, only used it once in the spring just as Covid hit.
Someone suggested that if I want to continue kayaking into the late fall and alone I should be able to self rescue .
Can anyone recommend a course? Thanks .

Eddyline recommends the Sky be used only on lakes and ponds. That said, it would be worthwhile for you to make the trip to Hyde Park and arrange a lesson with Marshall of The River Connection.

1 Like

Or NACK Dec 10th on meetup Jones Beach field 10 usually.

Thanks. I will look into it. I’m never really very far from shore because I am a photographer as well as a kayaker.

1 Like

Thank you.

1 Like

North American canoe kayak NACK

NACK requires a membership but it’s worth it if you are active.

There are plenty of self rescue videos on Youtube. I’m not suggesting they are a replacement for actual 1:1 coaching but they are a good starter. I watch the videos at Online Sea Kayaking (subscription) and then practice in shallow water at a public park.

Also, you can go onto the ACA website and find an instructor in your geographic area. Several on LI.

(edit: I just saw Lower Westchester. My bad for referring to LI. There are ACA coaches in the Bronx and Westchester. Look here. I honestly don’t know where one discipline ends and another starts. I’d find someone near you and contact them.)

Sometimes wind comes up out of nowhere. I’d certainly prefer to be in a sea kayak on the Sound. I sailed Rhodes 19s and Lightnings (and an occasional larger sailboat) out of Mamaroneck years ago.

Until you can self rescue, you have no business being out there in a little plastic kayak.
Not trying to be harsh, just being logical.

1 Like

Appreciate your response.

1 Like