Self taught roll

I really want to learn to roll.

There aren’t any classes coming up soon (in my area).

Years ago I tried to roll my C-2 whitewater canoe.

Man I tried so hard.

Solo from the back cockpit, with my legs (knees bent) strapped to the hull.

Couldn’t make it happen.

I have a rockered 16.75’ sea kayak.

I live on a lake and have a pier, to practice hip snaps.

Can I teach myself to roll?

You know with out destroying my shoulders

depend a lot on you

– Last Updated: Jun-23-11 4:18 PM EST –

some people do have a natural knack in that they are both relaxed upside down in water and have a good sense of body position. Such a person can watch a good video and pick it up pretty fast. Sigh... I was not such a person.

"The Kayak Roll" video by Kent Ford seemed like a good video.

A big key is to break the learning into steps because most folks can't easily remember to do the five or whatever key things and do so smoothly the first time and. By committing some aspect to muscle memory before moving on you free your brain to focus on fewer details at each step. Anything that lets you work on just hip snaps without worrying about the paddle can help as a start -- I used a mental image of pulling the boat back under me rather than getting me above the boat.

Having someone video you can help in self learning. Be sure to talk to the camera to describe how each roll felt so you can relate that later to what you see of yourself.

Do everything slow -- at times even way exaggerate slow to be sure. Rolling is not a power move and fooling yourself in to thinking it is will result in a poor roll at best.

If you can get hold of a Greenland paddle you may find that helps at first even if you don't intend to use one long term. It's less sensitive to bad blade angle freeing you of one extra item to get right at first.

Take lots of rest breaks because fatigue and dizziness will make you sloppy then you actually _learn_ to be sloppy.

Good luck!

sure