Setting up paddle for right hand person

Greetings from Hertfordshire in England :wave:

I’m just getting into paddling and have bought a kayak (Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100) and an adjustable paddle (https://www.escape-watersports.co.uk/equipment/paddles/bravo-2-pc-fg-kayak-paddle-black-adjustable-210-240-15126-detail). The paddle can be rotated to adjust the feather, which I’ve read about and mostly understand, although for now I am using no feathering while I just get used to my kayak and paddling about in the canal where I live.

But what I am struggling to understand fully is the difference between setting up a paddle for a right hand or left handed person. I am right handed. Is there something in particular I need to be doing to ensure that my paddle is correctly set for this? Or is this only a consideration when the paddle is feathered?

I know this is a total beginner question but hopefully someone can clearly explain this to me!

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

For people with an old school belief in the idea of a control hand (as in only on one side), the feather is opposite for a right handed person than for a leftie. Since I don’t paddle with much if any feather - my WW paddle is 12 degrees and that always felt good - I would have to go down and look at it to be sure of the setup for a right handed feather.

The thing with a feathered paddle is that it tends to involve some rotation of one wrist. Probably many arguments for efficiency out there with paddling technique gurus. But my wrists have never been overly fond of that. The 12 degrees in the H2O paddle seems to match whatever happens naturally since my right side is a bit stronger and in some part of the rotation maybe a bit stiffer than the left.

The bottom line is that you need to get a good bite in the water with the blade. The angle to do that can be achieved with torso rotation as well as feathering. For most folks who are not speed demons the diff is not crucial.