Sit In Rec Kayak On Ocean

Hello I appreciate any help and advice in this matter. I have been kayaking for the past 10 years mostly doing Backcountry calm River trips and Alpine Lakes in mountainous areas. Last year I went to the Everglades near the Gulf of Mexico and attempted to paddle out to a backcountry site referred to as a chickee. The waves we’re too big I did not have a spray skirt, my kayaks filled with water eventually after paddling for 2-3 hours luckily I was able to get to shore after bailing out twice.

I would like to go explore the Everglades and near the Keys again in a few months. My question is do you think if I bought a very nice spray skirt for my sit inside recreational kayak(not a long sea kayak just a normal rec kayak that cost only $3-350 when i bought it) do you think that will solve my water issue. Do you know if people that kayak Open Water in a sit inside recreational kayak with a spray skirt? Most of the trips I do now on rivers are maybe 10 to 12 miles a day on the Open Water; I would plan roughly the same trips 5-10 miles (a little shorter as I reconize how slow my kayak moves through choppy water) through Open Water to get to a Backcountry site.

I understand that there comes a point where waves are too big for any kayak. I would plan to only go out if the water was somewhat calm when I was out before and fell into the water the waves where Maybe a foot-and-a-half tall. I will look into purchasing another kayak if need be but what a good spray skirt solve the issue of being able to paddle 5 to 10 MI in open Waters such as the Gulf of Mexico on an average day no storms no high winds but still waves to paddle through. I hope you are enjoying your Summer Wherever You Are

How does you and your kayak behave in a capsize? Does it fill up with water and sink, or does it have built-in flotation? Are you able to get back into the kayak after a capsize?