Slight oil canning on used kayak. Big deal?

I’ve been searching high and low for a transitional kayak. I’m a newbie so I’ve been looking at the plastic boats.

I found a Perception Carolina 12 about 3 hours away for $400. Or looks in really good condition, but there’s a slight dent on the bottom. Is this something to worry about? It’s not a big area and it’s a shallow dent. I guess they just strapped it on to a track to tightly. Can it be popped back into shape by warming it up?

Ceci,
The dent in the bottom probably won’t be a big deal. But use it as a bargaining chip to get the price lower. If floating downstream or lazy paddling around a pond is your intended use, I doubt you’ll ever notice it. If you can test paddle the boat, all the better, make sure it doesn’t pull one way or the other. Can it be popped out? I have no experience with it, but I’ve read some posts that say they can.

1 Like

How big is the dent? @tjalmy gave good advice above. Also, check to see if it’s at a bulkhead. If so, make sure it didn’t damage/deform the bulkhead. Often, applying slight pressure from the inside while leaving it in the sun will take care of it.

1 Like

Here’s what the dent looks like. You can see it just before the darker blue section.

[Kayak dent](View my photo at https://ceciland.smugmug.com/TechShots/n-3m2k34/i-XK9RZdm)

Hard to tell in the shot from that angle but it doesn’t look all that bad. A little concerning that it seems to be deeper on the right than the left. Some shallow dents will pop out with a little cautious heat application (hair dryer on high or heat gun on low, kept moving so it doesn’t melt or scorch) – poly has a “memory” to some extent.

1 Like

I think I would try hot (boiling) water poured onto the dent on the outside and then apply pressure from the inside. I wouldn’t expect it to pop out, but it might push out with the right amount of push.