SOF -Design Critique Wanted

-- Last Updated: Oct-14-05 6:16 PM EST --

I'm finally beginning construction on my SOF. Looking for some general comment/impressions of what I'm planning.

Rather than following the traditional "design as you go approach" based on body measurements I have a specific design I am going to follow (I'm a designer - can't help it). It's not set in stone, so I can take advantage of adjustments along the way (body measures/logic taken into account), but there is a specific design intent beyond the simple joy of building.

Specifically, a fast touring SOT (that is still optimized for rolling). An open water distance at speed boat. Not a flat water go fast boat, not a play boat.

http://community.webshots.com/album/249825602duhWlu

Images show the basic lines, intended waterline, a basic frame plan, and overlaid comparisons with several other kayaks.

Some of the comparisons are to scale (you'll see length/beam don't match and can get an idea of the real size of my design) while others are just comparing lines (and have been scaled to same length). Boats selected for comparison are random based on those I could find line drawings for - but conveniently provided a mix of good rollers and fast tourers/racers -including the hull I'm most familiar with, the QCC 700.

The way my lines ended up comparing to the professional designs makes me think I'm on the right track.

Approximate Specs (subject to change during build):

Length overall: 600 cm (19' 8")
Overall Beam: 48 cm (18.9")
LWL* - 550 cm (18')
BWL* - 46 cm (18")
Foredeck** (measured outside - minus coaming): 28 cm (11")
Aft deck*** (outside - minus coaming)): 17 cm (6 5/8")

And depending on actual sheer (the one thing I can't figure 2D an will have to bend the gunnels):
Bow depth (and end of keel) - 10"
Stern depth (at end of keel) - 7.25"
Rocker - TBD - min 2" forward, 1.25" aft

* LWL/BWL is a 12 to 1 ratio (how slow can it be?)