Solar panels in the backcountry

Hi all
I have a little solar generator I need to operate my CPAP machine while backcountry. I do not function well if I don’t sleep with the CPAP, so I can’t simply leave it behind
My trouble is the solar panel I have. It works well and is pretty rugged, but it’s too big to have on my kayak for expeditions. Does anyone use a flexible or small solar panel they like? I’m looking for one that’s about 100W
Tia!

Goal Zero. Take a look. I have no personal experience. In the hiking and biking communities I am active in, the discussion usually centers on Goal Zero or Anker.

1 Like

I’m really interested to see other comments because I am in a similar position.

I too have a CPAP machine and just recently purchased a 160W solar generator, which will power my CPAP for 3 or 4 days. I’ve started to look at 100W folding solar panels as well, something like this:

This fella also uses a CPAP and in this video he shows the solar panel he is using with his CPAP battery set-up: Allpowers 60 watt folding solar panel - YouTube

2 Likes

I talked with Justine Curvengen (the film maker behind the This is the Sea series, among others) about solar panels. She uses lots of cameras which need lots of recharging. Her take was that the nice days when solar would work well were also when you want to be paddling (and weather days when you take a day off are generally not great solar days). She didn’t know of any way to really waterproof a solar panel on the back deck to charge while paddling. So she just brings lots of replacement batteries or generators (big battery packs) with her.

I do have a Votaic Fuse system that I could put inside a map case and strap to back deck. I think mine is just 10 watts, though. They do say the various parts are waterproof, but I would not trust what they say for conditions that we would find when paddling. That is something I’d watch out for with all brands and models.