Solo Caneo Newbie Wants to Step Up

Hello, Newbie here to paddling and paddling.net. I’ve got about 300 miles on a used Vagabond and want to make a step up. Looking for a solo canoe a little faster and a little lighter. I’ve done extensive research on the web and on paddling.net. My paddling ambitions are really modest, Michigan rivers and lakes for the most part, maybe some BMCAW, nothing whitewater. So it has to have maneuverability for the narrow Michigan rivers. Still I want downriver and lake speed improvement over the Vagabond. Mostly day trips, but an occasional short 2-4 day overnighter. An essential requirement is back comfort. I have a history of sciatica/back pain. I’ve tried kayaks but my back can’t tolerate that type posture. (The legs straight out are the killer! I use my Vagabond with a portable backrest seat I got from Eddie Bauer). I’m at the stage in my life where I can put some savings to use, so money is not really a limiting factor, up to $3K is in range. Pursuing the back support question, would canoes designed for 2-blades (e.g., Rapdifire) give adequate back support and remove the leg extension factor compared to a kayak, Or are they too similar?. What are opinions here on suitable solos such as (but not limited to) PBW Rapidfire, SR Tranquility, Hemlock Peregrine, Wenonah Wilderness and Prism, Scott Sunset and of course others not mentioned. Thanks for any and all opinions!

Size, stance
To help at all we need to know how tall you are and what you weigh. Then we need to figure your best stance in the boat.

I’m gonna bet that RapidFire isn’t much better on the lower back than most kayaks, although a seat 3" high is somewhat better than one 1.5" high.

Classic touring stance, sitting higher with legs out, feet on footrests may not be much better.

What works best for me, also with lower back pain[s] is kneeling, although I prefer a boat in which I can sit occasionally.